Skip navigation
The Progressive Policy Think Tank

About the programme

The IPPR Better Health and Care Programme Advisory Board, chaired by Lord Ara Darzi

Image of Lord Ara Darzi

Lord Ara Darzi

Chair of the IPPR Better Health and Care Programme

Ara is Professor of surgery and chair of the Institute for Global Health Innovation at
Imperial College and a former health minister.

Image of Sir David Behan

Sir David Behan

Advisory Board Member

David is chair of Health Education England. Previously, he was Chief Executive of the CQC. Before that he was the Department of Health’s Director General for Social Care and Local Government.

Image of Sir John Bell

Sir John Bell

Advisory Board Member

John is Regius Professor of Medicine at Oxford University. He was president of the Academy of Medical Sciences from 2006-2011.

Image of Dame Ruth Carnall

Dame Ruth Carnall

Advisory Board Member

Ruth is a co-founder of Carnall Farrar, a consultancy firm and Deputy Chair of the Kings Fund. She was previously Chief Executive of NHS London.

Image of Shirley Cramer

Shirley Cramer

Advisory Board Member

Shirley was until recently Chief Executive of the Royal Society for Public Health (RSPH). Previously she was Chief Executive of Dyslexia Action and Alzheimer’s Research UK.

Image of Dame Sally Davies

Dame Sally Davies

Advisory Board Member

Sally was until recently the Chief Medical Officer (CMO) for England and is now Master of Trinity College at Cambridge University.

Image of Dr Clare Gerada

Dr Clare Gerada

Advisory Board Member

Clare is co-chair of the NHS Assembly and leads a group of primary care providers in south-east London. She was previously President of the Royal College of GPs.

Image of Professor Donna Hall

Professor Donna Hall

Advisory Board Member

Donna chair of NLGN and Professor of Politics at Manchester University. She was previously Chief Executive of Wigan Council.

Image of Samantha Jones

Samantha Jones

Advisory Board Member

Sam is Chief Executive of Centene UK. Prior to this she was Director of the New Models of Care Programme for NHS England and various NHS Trusts. She started her career as a nurse.

Image of Sir David Nicholson

Sir David Nicholson

Advisory Board Member

David is Chairman of Worcestershire Acute Hospitals. Prior to this David was Chief Executive of NHS England.

Image of Professor Julian Redhead

Professor Julian Redhead

Advisory Board Member

Julian is Medical Director of Imperial College Healthcare Trust and Chair of the Medical Directors at the Shelford Group.

Image of Professor Geraldine Strathdee

Professor Geraldine Strathdee

Advisory Board Member

Geraldine is a Consultant Psychiatrist. Until 2016, she was National Clinical Director for Mental Health.