Skip navigation
The Progressive Policy Think Tank

The Commission

The Commission’s work has been informed by consultation and engagement with a wide range of experts and stakeholders across the subjects it has studied. Many people and organisations responded to our calls for evidence, attended round tables and other events, sent us material or met us to discuss their research and experience. We are very grateful to everyone who contributed to the Commission in these ways.

Professor Peter Ackers, Loughborough University

Stuart Adam, Institute for Fiscal Studies

Steve Akehurst, Shelter

David Autor, MIT

Professor Sir Charles Bean, LSE

Dave Beer

Kate Bell, TUC

Dr Craig Berry, Manchester Metropolitan University

Mubeen Bhutta, Working Families

Phil Bloomer, Business & Human Rights Resource Centre

Dr Peter Bowman, Coalition for Economic Justice 

Matthew Breunig, People’s Policy Project

Francesca Bria, Barcelona City Council

Patrick Brione, Involvement & Participation Association

Liam Byrne MP

Emma Chamberlain, Pump Court Tax Chambers

David Clarke, Positive Money

Professor Kimberley Clausing, Reed College Oregon

Dane Clouston, The Campaign for Universal Inheritance

Will Cook, Manchester Metropolitan University

Adam Corlett, Resolution Foundation

Louisa Cox, Fairtrade Foundation

Professor Diane Coyle, University of Manchester

Kate Creagh, Building Societies Association

John Cullinane, Chartered Institute of Taxation

Professor Andrew Cumbers, Adam Smith Business School, Glasgow University

Dr Angela Cummine, Tcorp, Government of New South Wales

Bill Davies, Central London Forward

Benedict Dellot, RSA

Professor Michael Devereux, University of British Columbia

Maggie Dewhurst, Independent Workers Union of Great Britain

Gill Dix, ACAS

Richard Dobbs, McKinsey

Marian Drew, Office for Tax Simplification

Peter Dwyer, University of York

John Earls, Unite

Miatta Fahnbulleh, New Economics Foundation

Laurie Fitzjohn-Sykes, Tomorrow’s Company

John Foster, CBI

Laura Gardiner, Resolution Foundation

Tom Gauterin

Rose Grayston, Shelter

Dr Jeremy Green, University of Cambridge

Tony Greenham, RSA

Joe Guinan, The Democracy Collaborative

Josh Hardie, CBI

Professor Jonathan Haskel, Imperial College London

Dr Mark Hayes, Durham University

Dr Helen Hester, University of West London

Richard Heys, Office for National Statistics

John Hills, LSE

Professor Gerald Holtham, Cardiff Metropolitan University

Ted Howard, The Democracy Collaborative

Will Hutton, Hertford College Oxford

Simon Jackson, Office for Tax Simplification

Paul Johnson, Industrial Communities Alliance

Bill Kerry, Tim Stacey and Wanda Wyporska, Equality Trust

Michael Kell, National Audit Office

Tom Kenny

Steve Kenzie, UN Global Compact Network UK

Eric King

Baroness Kramer, APPG Responsible tax

Sarah Kyambi, Migrant Rights Network

Stewart Lansley, City, University of London

Scott Lavery, Sheffield Political Economy Research Institute

Professor Julian Le Grand, LSE Marshall Institute

Joe Levenson, Young Women’s Trust

Jonathan Lipkin, the Investment Association

Wendy Liu, New Socialist

Laurie Macfarlane, UCL Institute for Innovation and Public Purpose

Liz Mann, LSE

Professor Alan Manning, LSE

Jane Mansour

Adam Marshall, British Chambers of Commerce

Nigel Mason, RM2 Partnership

Ed Mayo, Co-operatives UK

Sean McDaniel, Sheffield Political Economy Research Institute

Iain McCluskey, PwC

Sarah McKinley

Ailbhe McNabola, Power to Change

Martin McTague, Federation of Small Businesses

Rachael Millar, Social Mobility Commission

Helen Miller, Institute for Fiscal Studies

Cliff Mills

Paul Morton, Office of Tax Simplification

Richard Murphy, Tax Research UK

Alex Naughton

Seamus Nevin, Institute of Directors

John Newton, A Social Democratic Future

Paul Nicolson, Taxpayers Against Poverty

Louisa Nolan, Office for National Statistics

Dr Martin O’Neill, University of York

Jeff Oatham, London Benchmarking Group

Dr Peter O'Brien, Centre for Urban and Regional Development Studies, Newcastle University

Simon Oswald, Aviva

Deb Oxley, Employee Ownership Association

Tim Page, TUC

Andrew Pakes, Prospect

Robert Palmer, Tax Justice UK

Sonali Parekh, Federation of Small Businesses

Andrew Pendleton, New Economics Foundation

Laura Pennacchi

David Pincott, BT

Debbie Pippard, Barrow Cadbury Trust

Professor Jonathan Portes, King’s College London

Bob Pozen, MIT

David Quentin, Tax Justice Network

Rebecca Riley, National Institute of Economic and Social Research

Emma Roberts, CBI

Heather Rolfe, National Institute of Economic and Social Research

Christopher Roy-Toole

Josh Ryan-Collins, UCL Institute for Innovation and Public Purpose

Steve Schifferes, City, University of London

Jeff Seabright, Unilever

Melanie Simms, Glasgow University

Dr Nick Srnicek, King’s College London

Will Stronge, University of Chichester

Francis Stuart, Scottish Trades Union Congress

Maria-Jose Subiela, Business in the Community

Madeleine Sumption, The Migration Observatory, University of Oxford

Geoff Tily, TUC

Malcolm Torry, Citizen’s Income Trust

Mike Tregent

Lawrence Turner, GMB

Amy Turton, Arts Council England

John Vine, Former Independent Chief Inspector of Borders and Immigration

Professor Peter Wells, Sheffield Hallam University

Sam White, Aviva

Eliot Whittington, Cambridge University

Professor Richard Wilkinson, University of Sheffield

Karel Williams, Alliance Manchester Business School

Janet Williamson, TUC

Fiona Wilson, USDAW

Simon Wren-Lewis, University of Oxford

Becky Wright, Unions 21

Jamie Wright

Dr Chris F Wright, Sydney University

Tony Yates