Skip navigation
The Progressive Policy Think Tank

Oxford Media Convention 2014

The Oxford Media Convention is now entering its 13th year and is established as the leading gathering of the industry. It traditionally attracts over 300 senior figures, including leading politicians and policymakers, industry leaders and practitioners, analysts and competitors from across the UK media.

long-banner 140122-3

Wednesday 26 February 2014, 09:00-17:00
Said Business School, University of Oxford

The UK media face tough policy challenges in a more complex and competitive converged environment. Broadcasters and other content providers have transformed their relationships with consumers in the UK and abroad. But new models depend on the generation of user data, which brings its own challenges. The Leveson Inquiry exposed the difficulty of regulating media ownership and plurality, and the government is grappling with the same problem. And the role and remit of the BBC is continually under review.

The Oxford Media Convention 2014, organised by IPPR, tackles these and other key challenges head-on. The visions of the key players will be laid out, and the UK's leading policy experts will debate real solutions with the people who will implement them.


Programme and speakers

Briefing papers:

- Session 1: Free to air television: 700mhz and beyond
- Session 2: A new framework for media plurality
- Session 3: Do we need the BBC?
- Session 4: Is your TV spying on you? User data, privacy policies and transparency
- Session 5 (plenary): UK content: where is the real growth coming from?

Keynote speeches from...

  • Rt Hon Maria Miller MP, Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport
  • Rt Hon Harriet Harman MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport and Shadow Deputy Prime Minister
  • Tony Hall, Director General, BBC
  • and an 'exit interview' with Colette Bowe, Chair, Ofcom

Other confirmed speakers include:

  • Steven Barnett, Professor of Communications, University of Westminster
  • Patrick Barwise, Emeritus Professor, Management and Marketing, London Business School
  • Magnus Brooke, Director of Policy and Regulatory Affairs, ITV plc
  • Martin Cave, Visiting Professor, Imperial College Business School
  • David Elstein, Chairman, and Broadcasting Policy Group
  • Claire Enders, Founder, Enders Analysis
  • Robin Foster, Founder Member, Communications Chambers
  • Jean Gonie, Director of Privacy Policy, Europe-Middle-East-Africa, Microsoft
  • Jane Humphreys, Head of Spectrum Policy, Department for Culture, Media and Sport
  • Lord Inglewood, Chairman, House of Lords Select Committee on Communications
  • Jim Killock, Executive Director, Open Rights Group
  • Cat Lewis,Chief Executive and Executive Producer, Nine Lives Media
  • David Mahoney, Director of Policy Development, Ofcom
  • Robert Picard, Director of Research, Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism, University of Oxford
  • James Purnell, Director - Strategy and Digital, BBC
  • Simon Rice, Group Manager (Technology), Information Commissioner's Office
  • Peggy Valcke, Professor in Law, KU Leuven, ICRI - iMinds (Security Department)
  • Nigel Warner, Associate Fellow, IPPR
  • John Whittingdale OBE MP, Chairman, Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee and Vice Chairman, Conservative 1922 Committee
  • Adrian Wootton, Chief Executive, Film London and British Film Commission

Sessions will be chaired by:

  • Sally Broughton-Micova, Research Officer, LSE Media Policy Project
  • Orla Lynskey, Lecturer in Law, London School of Economics
  • Nick Pearce, Director, IPPR
  • Jon Snow, Presenter, Channel 4 News
  • Damian Tambini, Director-Media Policy Project, LSE
  • Justin Webb, Presenter, BBC Today Programme

Sessions include:

  • A new framework for media plurality
  • Free to air television: 700mhz and beyond
  • Do we need the BBC?
  • Is your TV spying on you? User data, privacy policies and transparency
  • UK content: where is the real growth coming from?

To register please visit our Eventbrite page or book your place below:

With thanks to:

Supported by Media partner Panel sponsors
 LSEMPP 150  GMN 200 Microsoft 200
COBA 140