This report proposes a new framework for emotional health, which will support employers to consider and improve the mental health, wellbeing and social and emotional competencies of their workforce. Emotional health refers to a set of malleable skills and beliefs which shape our feelings, thoughts and behaviour.

The emotional health framework outlines seven social and emotional competencies or ‘assets’, which can be cultivated within the workplace at an individual and organisational level. The seven assets are:

  • self beliefs
  • self awareness
  • self regulation
  • self agency
  • beliefs about others
  • social awareness
  • relationship skills.

While each asset is important in its own right, it is the collective interaction between them which forms our emotional health.