Meet the leading figures from academia, civil society, trade unions, life science, politics, and business shaping the commission's work

  • Lord Ara Darzi

    Co-chair. Paul Hamlyn chair of surgery, Imperial College London and a former health minister
  • Dame Sally Davies

    Co-chair. Master of Trinity College at Cambridge University and a former chief medical officer for England
  • Mayor Andy Burnham

    Mayor of Greater Manchester and former secretary of state for health
  • Lord James Bethell

    Hereditary peer in the House of Lords and former health minister
  • Simon Wren-Lewis

    Professor of economics, University of Oxford
  • Kieron Boyle

    Chief executive at the Impact Investing Institute
  • Matthew Taylor

    CEO, NHS Confederation and former head of the number 10 policy unit
  • Carys Roberts

    Executive director
    Read more
  • Professor Clare Bambra

    Professor of public health at Newcastle University
  • Professor Donna Hall

    Professor of politics at Manchester University
  • Marie Gabriel CBE

    Chair, NHS Race and Health Observatory
  • John Godfrey

    Corporate affairs director, Legal & General; executive chairman, Business for Health; former head of policy at number 10
  • Christina McAnea

    General secretary, Unison
  • Dr Halima Begum

    CEO of ActionAid
  • Kamran Mallick

    CEO, Disability Rights UK
  • Dr Fiona Carragher

    Director of research, Alzheimer’s Society; former deputy chief scientific officer, NHS England
  • Dr Charmaine Griffiths

    CEO, British Heart Foundation
  • Sophie Howe

    Future generations commissioner, Wales
  • Dr Jonathan Pearson-Stuttard

    Vice-chair of the Royal Society for Public Health and head of health analytics at Lane, Clark & Peacock
    Read more
  • Tom Kibasi

    Former director, IPPR
    Read more
  • Jordan Cummins

    Director of health, Confederation of British Industry
  • Anna Garrod

    Policy and influencing director at Impact on Urban Health